New West Symphony to Perform Works by Vivaldi, Mozart and Ravel February 24, 25 and 26


The New West Symphony performs its fourth concert in its Masterpiece Series, ‘The Four Seasons’ featuring violin virtuosa Anne Akiko Meyers and guest conductor Joshua Gersen. The program begins with Le Tombeau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel, followed by Ms. Akiko Meyers performing The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi. The program concludes with Symphony No. 40 in G minor by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Concert dates are February 24 in Oxnard, February 25 in Thousand Oaks and February 26 in Santa Monica. Tickets at THIS LINK.

Guest Artist Anne Akiko Meyers

Anne Akiko Meyers is world renowned for her passionate performances and her modern interpretations of classics, in particular Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons. About her playing of this piece, The Strad Magazine said “A no-nonsense account…she vividly portrays the varying moods in Vivaldi’s Four Seasons with playing that is quite remarkable in its dexterity and technical brilliance.” The New York Times wrote, “There is an old-world glamour to Ms. Akiko Meyers’ playing, with her high-gloss, singing sound and her liberal use of sighing slides from one note to another…in the most hazardous tempo changes and transitions their interaction was impressively relaxed.” A frequent soloist with the top orchestras in the world, Ms. Akiko Meyers makes her fourth appearance with the New West Symphony.

"I am thrilled to return to the amazing New West Symphony and look forward to performing one of the most iconic and beloved compositions of all time - the Vivaldi Four Seasons,” said Ms. Meyers. “I'm so excited to work with Joshua Gersen and my New West Symphony friends again."

Ms. Meyers has produced stunning videos with excerpts from each of the seasons in Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons:





Guest Conductor Joshua Gersen

Joshua Gersen makes his conducting debut with the New West Symphony, and he is the fourth candidate being considered for the role of Music Director. Mr. Gersen is currently assistant conductor of the New York Philharmonic, and was previously the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation Conducting Fellow of the New World Symphony, where he served as assistant conductor to Michael Tilson Thomas. He also served as principal conductor of the renowned 2013 Ojai Music festival. Mr. Gersen is a graduate of the Curtis School of Music where he studied conducting, and the New England Conservatory of Music, where he studied composition.

"I cannot wait to come out and meet everyone at the New West Symphony.  This is a wonderful program that spans centuries of classical music and features some of the most famous and beautiful pieces in the entire repertoire.” Mr. Gerson continues, “ I can't wait to make music with the musicians of the orchestra and am thrilled to work the esteemed and wonderful Anne Akiko Myers."

Here is a video of Mr. Gersen conducting a performance of Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, a piece also being performed at our upcoming concert

The Music

Le Tombeau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel

(b. Ciboure, France, 1875; d. Paris, 1937)

Composed in 1917 for piano; orchestrated in 1920.

Each of the movements of Le Tombeau was dedicated to one of six friends of the composer who had fallen on the battlefield during World War I, a musical memorial to his countrymen, as well as to his mother whose death had caused him to fall into a deep anguish. Despite its heavy burden of associations, Le Tombeau displays little of Ravel’s distraught mental state, especially in its effervescent orchestral version.

The Four Seasons by Antonio Vivaldi

(b. Venice, 1678; d. Vienna, 1741)

Composed around 1720.

Originally published as part of a collection of twelve concertos for solo violin and orchestra by Antonio Vivaldi — Il Cimento dell’Armonia e dell’Inventione, or “The Contest between Harmony and Invention,” Op. 8, the first four concertos, those depicting the seasons of the year, seem to have especially excited Bohemian Count Wenzel von Morzin’s admiration, a potential patron, so Vivaldi made specific the programmatic implications of the works by heading each of them with a sonnet.

Symphony No. 40 in G minorby Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

(b. Salzburg, 1756; d. Vienna, 1791)

Composed: 1788.

Mozart was broke, his 6-month old daughter had recently died, his wife had fallen ill and his health was in rapid decline, leading to his death within three years. Yet amid all these difficulties, he produced, in less than two months, the three crowning jewels of his orchestral output, the Symphonies Nos. 39, 40 and 41. The G minor alone of the last three symphonies may reflect the composer’s distressed emotional state at the time of its composition. It is among those great works of Mozart that look forward to the passionately charged music of the 19th century while epitomizing the structural elegance of the waning Classical era.

Program Details

Performances are being held on the following dates and venues:

Friday, February 24, 2017 - 8:00pm at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center (800 Hobson Way, Oxnard)

Saturday, February 25, 2017 - 8:00pm at the Kavli Theatre, Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza

Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 4:00pm at the Broad Stage, Santa Monica College (1310 11th St., Santa Monica)

Ticket prices range from $30 - $120 and can be purchased by calling 866-776-8400 or visiting

About the New West Symphony

Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. The Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  It also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura. More information is available at or follow us on Facebook at